The Twelve Days of Baseballmas

As I’m sure is the case for many of you reading this, “off-season” is a bit of a misnomer for me, as baseball still somehow manages to find its way into all sorts of funny little corners of my brain, most recently in the form of the Christmas list I finally wrote out fo my mother after being asked “what do you want for Christmas?” enough times to make us both insane. The other night, after wrapping some gifts in the super secret holiday hideout that is my parents’ bedroom this time of year, she emerged with one comment as she went to the kitchen for a cup of tea — “you should just start calling it baseballmas.”

Well, my brain works in strange ways, so I started contemplating what the twelve days of baseballmas, as presided over by jolly ole St. Bochy would look like. We’ll skip to day twelve for the sake of time/my wrists.

On the twelfth day of Baseballmas, ole Bochy gave to me:

AT&T on a clear December night. Pretty nice lights, huh? / Image courtesy Stanislav Sedov via flickr

12 Lincecum strikeouts
11 Buster throw downs
10 Belt options to Fresno
9 Aubrey groundouts
8 gritty veterans
7 MadBum FFFFF’s
6 Panda handshakes
5 Cainings!
4 one run games
3 Romo sliders
2 Journey songs

And a sell out to fund some rainy days!

It’s not the Braves singing (I use the word generously) “Jingle Bells”, but it at least gave me a chuckle. Happy holidays, all! Now, is baseball here yet?

Leave a Reply

