Throwing Down The Signs: An Interview With 2011 Draftee Andrew Susac

2nd round draft pick Andrew Susac has been receiving a lot of buzz since he was drafted. This spring, he’ll be catching more attention as a non-roster invitee.

First of all, I wanted to say congratulations on being a non-roster invitee this spring training.

Thanks. Appreciate it.

So, how has conditioning camp been?

It’s been good. It’s a little like the camp we did in November. It’s a little more high intensity, kind of thing. We do stuff like climb Mt. Camelback and a bunch of speed and agility stuff other days and lay low and get the work day done early and then we get a little baseball in for about a couple of hours a day and it’s a change from just going out to working out and going out and hitting and stuff.

How do you think conditioning camp has improved your game calling skills and playing overall?

Well, this is my second one. It’s a good thing that the Giants do and a great experience cause I know – I have a couple buddies on the A’s and they don’t have a program like this and I think we’re very fortunate to have one of these things lined up to make sure in the best shape possible going into spring training. Personally, it’s a great experience because you make you’re doing what you need to do.

How have things been since you’ve been drafted, in terms of adjusting from college baseball to the pro ball level?

It’s pretty similar. I mean, having this system for me is a plus. But the little stuff’s pretty much the same. You’re living in a hotel versus an apartment for right now at least. I mean, you’re on your own and no one’s there to watch you. The only thing that’s really different is that you don’t have a set schedule. It’s kind of like you get what you wanna put into it. No one’s there to hold your hand and you just gotta do your own thing.

Have there been any big challenges for you since you’ve been drafted?

No, not really. Just trying to get accustomed to the lifestyle and figuring out what guys are doing differently here. Just kinda soaking it up right now, but come spring training, adjustments need to start taking place. It’s pretty mellow.

Where do you expect to play this season, if you have any idea?

I have no clue. No clue at all. It’s something I try not to worry about. Just do what they think is right.

Have you gotten any advice from Buster Posey about catching or anything like that?

No. I mean, the only time I saw him was down in instructional league – he’s not here right now. But, no, I didn’t talk to him at all about catching. I just watch him work, watch him get back into shape. He has an unbelievable work ethic.

Is there a city you’re looking forward to playing in?

Is there a city I’m looking forward to playing in? I’d like to play in San Francisco, but that’ll come a time. Not really, I’ve played in a lot of the cool ballparks. I’ve played at Fenway, Safeco. But yeah, I mean, I think my goal right now is to play in San Francisco.

You grew up in Northern California, right?

Yeah.

Did you grow up a Giants fan?

Always. Candlestick, doing that thing. I’ve always been a Giants fan. My uncle’s an A’s fan, but my parents are Giants fans.

Who was your favorite player growing up?

I have so many. I went through a Barry Bonds phase. I was a big fan of Benito Santiago when he used to play. And of course, Matt Williams back in the day.

And our final question. High socks: do you prefer this look or not?

No way. But I’ll do it if I have to.

Leave a Reply

