That Giants Game Last Night Through The Eyes Of The Internet

If I were to judge how last night’s game went according to Twitter, I would assume it would be something to this effect:

  1. Okay, it’s Vogelsong, there’s a chance. WOO GO VOGELSTRONG.
  2. WE’RE DOOMED. WE’RE ALL GONNA DIE.
  3. OMG TIE GAME TIE GAME
  4. WE’RE ALL GONNA DIE
  5. OMG A CHANCE
  6. WE’RE DOOMED
  7. WE’RE DEAD
  8. THE GIANTS ARE DEAD
  9. THIS SEASON IS OVER
  10. THEY WILL NEVER WIN AGAIN

Which, y’know, it sucks to lose, but there’s still about a month of regular season baseball left to be played.

I have no access to a television in my current residence. I also opted to read and occasionally glance at GameDay as opposed to listening to KNBR once I was able to access my laptop at around the 4th inning. I was being one of them college students who actually studies or something. (Shocking, innit?)

I almost wish I hadn’t done that because it ended up becoming hours and hours of frustration and words hurled at my research. And I understand the frustration — really, I do. I’ve been through enough seasons of Giants failure to know how awful it once was.

But this isn’t one of those years. The Giants are up 4.5 games in the NL West. Yeah, a bigger lead would be fabulous. Running away with the division title would be downright awesome. But sometimes it just doesn’t work that way and you get games like this.

People were scoreboard watching during this game. Fine, keep an eye out on what’s going on around the division, that’s okay. Yeah, the Dodgers lost, that’s great. The Giants are still 4.5 games up in the division. Unless the Giants decide to fall apart on the last day of the regular season, the panicking is probably unnecessary.

(I don’t suggest that you fall apart like the Red Sox, Giants. Really. Don’t. Because then I would be hurling the amount of inanimate objects my book bag contains and trust me, that’s at least 25 pens right there. They’d be hurled at a brick or my laptop or what have you, but I swear to Cy the dog, I will hurl a Pilot Precise V5 Extra Fine pen in black ink at something within my eyesight. Most likely another inanimate object, but the point still stands.

Don’t do that.)

Look, the A’s are my AL team — shush; I can hear the boos all the way from Alaska — and I have seen a considerable amount of fanbase panic. But that was when a team was horrible. It was almost understandable because good grief, the A’s had some really bad years and a guy who squirted sunscreen into his eye* and eventually went on to help the Rays win on the day the Red Sox collapsed**.

There is panic in baseball that is warranted.

It is not playoff baseball.

This is not that one week last August where every player basically dropped like an anvil and health hit the ground running as far as it could be from the Giants clubhouse.

This is not a major injury.

This was some questionable managing after a comeback that just happened to be frustrating as hell.

If I were to put this into an analogy, I think it would go like this:

Bruce Bochy : Brandon Belt :: Giants fans : Giants

Yes, Giants fans, that’s right, SWING MORE SWING LESS BE AGGRESSIVE TAKE A PITCH SWING SWING NO DON’T SWING.

Sounds familiar, doesn’t it? Hm. Gee, I wonder why.

I’m not saying I don’t understand a fan’s frustration with baseball — like, I said, I lived through some pretty bad Giants seasons prior to 2010. There’s just a line between being an all-out flip flopper who says everyone’s doomed and that they’re going to win and panicking for a reason.

Am I being a pretentious and obnoxious person right now? Possibly, yes. This is all coming from the gal who tried to reverse jinx all five games of the 2010 World Series, so what do I know? (In my defense, I choose to believe it worked and I have witnesses.)

But it’s almost as if people are serious about the game being over in, like, the third inning.

There’s a website for that.

*Dan Johnson’s bizarre injury has proved to be a good conversation starter amongst baseball fans
**One day, I will stop mentioning that collapse. One day. But Red Sox Collapse, the song, is still funny, so I don’t know how long that’ll be.

Leave a Reply

